- Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Telcom Pro's - Switch Technicians unite!  

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister   

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send Topic Print  
Issues Clearing an Aisle Alarm
Read 1571 times

DeltaDave   Offline
Network Technician

Edmonton
I Love Telcom!!

Issues Clearing an Aisle Alarm
Jan 23rd, 2019 at 5:13pm

Hey all, I'm relatively new to the DMS, only been at it for a couple of years. I'm experiencing peculiar trouble that I am unable to get to the root of.

Logging into the DMS, I see an EXT Maj alarm on the banner. It is for an Aisle A alarm in one of my remotes. Head out there and sure enough, there is an aisle alarm in aisle A for an LCM bay. Now, off the bat I see there are no breakers or fuses tripped, both ring generators are functioning normally. Troubleshooting further I roll the ring generators, power converters, and the NT6X36AA (FSP Card) with another LCM in another BAY. Trouble never moves, however when the power converter is removed on (shelf 4 of that bay) Unit 0 of the bottom LCM the aisle alarm clears. So it would seem that the trouble is somehow associated with that unit, yet I can see nothing out of place.

I have also been able to dig up some wiring diagrams for the FSP Card which I will attach to this post. I checked the pins (10,26, and 32 - see attached photo of wiring diagram) associated with shelf 4 (corresponds to unit 0 of the lower LCM) and referenced it with another FSP card in another bay and can't find any anomaly to trace back to what could be bringing that alarm in.

Any suggestions?

IP Logged    

1palm   Offline
Switch Technician

Re: Issues Clearing an Aisle Alarm
Reply #1 - Jan 23rd, 2019 at 6:27pm

And no drawers in shelf 04 complaining? One possibility is one of the cartridge fuse (5/15/48) may have blown but the indicator didn't "release". If you pulled each 48, then 15, then 5, would the alarm go off?

IP Logged    

DeltaDave   Offline
Network Technician

Edmonton
I Love Telcom!!